Font: A A A
Background: White Black
Ilustration: Show Hide

US Senator John S. McCain Freedom Award to be presented to Lithuania

The International Republican Institute’s (IRI) 2021 Freedom Award will honour Lithuania. The Prime Minister of Lithuania Ingrida Šimonytė has been invited to accept the award. The Prime Minister will not be able to attend the ceremony; hence she will thank IRI in a video message.  

In addition to Lithuania, this year’s Freedom Award will honour the leaders of democracy in Myanmar, Belarus, and Cuba.

The International Republican Institute’s Freedom Award Celebration has been honouring individuals since 1995. Over the years, honourees have included Pope John Paul II (posthumously), US President Ronald Reagan, former US Secretaries of State Henry A. Kissinger, Colin Luther Powell, and Condoleezza Rice, Russian opposition figure Boris Nemtsov (posthumously), Ukrainian Maidan Movement, as well as freedom fighters in Belarus, Venezuela, and Hong Kong.    

The Award Ceremony will take place on 19 October in Washington, DC.